top of page

Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate

skills for care

This qualification is designed to improve portability and reduce the need for repeat training and assessment when individual move roles. Skills for Care was commissioned by the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) to develop a specification for the development of the new Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate qualification, based on the existing Care Certificate standards.

The NQual Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate qualification is supported by Skills for Care and the Department of Health and Social Care. This qualification is guided by the Skills for Care & Development Assessment Principles and Additional Assessment Principles Guidance.


  • Understand Own Role

  • Personal Development

  • Duty of Care

  • Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Human Rights

  • Work in a Person-Centred Way

  • Communication

  • Privacy and Dignity

  • Nutrition and Hydration

  • Awareness of Mental Health and Dementia

  • Adult Safeguarding

  • Safeguarding Children

  • Health, Safety and Principles of Basic Life Support

  • Handling Information

  • Infection Prevention and Control (IPC)

  • An Awareness of Learning Disability and Autism

Entry Requriements
  • Minimum age 19

There are no further entry requirements for this qualification.

Progression Opportunities
  • Level 2 Diploma in Adult Care

  • Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care

  • Level 2 Award in Dementia Awareness

  • Level 2 Award in Dementia Care

Additional Information
  • GLH: 288

  • TQT: 360

  • Credit Value: 36


NQual have been notified by the Department for Health and Social Care, that due to the General Election and entering a ‘pre-election period’, the DHSC will not be funding the launch of this qualification. Any future access to funding will be dependent on the government deciding how it wishes to proceed after the General Election.

*Available to learners from 3rd June 2024

Qualification Fee:


To register a learner on this qualification, please log in. 

Need to become an NQual Approved Centre?

bottom of page